Learning to Speak the 5 Love Languages

I’m a believer that there should be a list of books that everybody should read to understand how to live life. If I’m compiling a list of books to add to that list, this would definitely make the list: The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman. I recently purchased this book physically and digitally and I completed it last night.
When I first glanced at the list of languages I knew immediately what language my family spoke, and what language I was probably proficient in. The 5 languages are:
words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, & physical touch
I realize that my parents mostly speak acts of service, quality time and receiving gifts (during Christmas) But I knew immediately the languages I was lacking was words of affirmation and physical touch. Many of the languages I cast off as “given”- well obviously if we were in a loving relationship we’d spend quality time together and do things for each other. It took a moment for me to step back and realize what I truly needed and the language I probably spoke: words of affirmation. I spend much of my life doing what I needed to do get by without much confirmation that what I’m doing is correct or valued. I definitely respond more with affirmative words. Physical touch is also valuable to me but if I think about it in relational terms I’d much rather receive words of affirmation than have physical touch. This was an important point in the novel. Perhaps disagreements in marriages are only because we aren’t speaking the same language. This and that even our presence can be a gift.
I feel like I’ve learned a lot from this book. I intend to continue to read novels that will increase my knowledge. Next up is You are a Badass by Jen Sincero. I may write a blog post once I finish that novel as well. Until then, ensure you’re speaking the right language in your relationships!

Learning to Speak the 5 Love Languages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s